Programme Details

The Master of Philosophy in Media Studies offered by the Department of Media Studies, CHRIST (Deemed to be University) aims at research skill development and knowledge production in the areas of Print, Radio, Television, Films, Internet, New Media, Development Communication and Global Communication. The Programme desires to give a formal research platform for those who are interested in contributing newer questions and concerns related to Media Studies. The M.Phil Programme in Media Studies will be conducted based on a credit system of one year and consisting of two semesters. The candidate has to submit the Dissertation by the end of second semester, after the completion of the course work.

The programme consists of 4 theory papers (2 Compulsory + 2 Electives)


Semester I (2 Compulsory)

1.Research Methodology
2.Perspectives on Communication and Media Theories


Semester II (2 Electives)

1.Exploring the Contemporary Issues in Advertising
2.Film Studies
3.Oral, Print and Visual Cultures – Practices, effects and collaborations.
4.Broadcasting in the Digital Age- Emerging Trends and Controversies
5.Social media

The course aims at enhancing the capacity of professing, prospective and practicing teachers/ lecturers and media professionals, who will be able to take up full-time research and at creating a resource pool of teachers, research scholars, industry professionals and work as the bridge programme for Ph.D. The M.Phil course is envisaged to contribute to the growth and development of the education sector of the country. The course will create opportunities to share and disseminate research in the field of Communication.    


(Deemed to be University)

Dharmaram College Post, Hosur Road, Bengaluru - 560029,
Karnataka, India

Tel: +91 804012 9100 / 9600

Fax: 40129000


Web: http://www.




CHRIST (Deemed to be University) is a nurturing ground for an individual's holistic development to make effective contribution to the society in a dynamic environment.

Copyright © CHRIST (Deemed to be University) 2020