ASCII Inauguration

The Inauguration of ASCII and CSI was a memorable day for CSE department of Christ University Faculty of Engineering. Around 500 students from B-Tech (CSE and IT), M-Tech (CSE) and faculties of department of Computer Science and Engineering attended this inaugural function for the academic year 2016-2017 which was held on 8th July 2016.

The chief guest for the event was Mr. GNV Prasad, Group Director ISAC who was accompanied by, Mr H L Srinivas, Senior scientist ISRO, Rev.Fr Antony Puthussery and  Dr. K Balachandran, Head of the department of Computer Science and Engineering and Information technology.
The inaugural function at Third Block auditorium started at 9.30 am by an invocation dance by Irene Joseph and Vidhya, followed by Lighting of the Lamp.

A promo video created by Amrithanshu Singh and team for ASCII was showcased with the previous year’s events, this year’s upcoming events and also talked about the vision and aim of 5th ASCII for the year 2016-2017.

The welcome note by HOD Dr.K Balachandran included insights about research and opportunity in the field of Computer Science and also spoke about evolution of Faculty of Engineering CSE department, from 17 students then to 500 students now. He also discussed the importance of these kind Associations in student life by citing examples from the evolving computer science area like Smart city, Digital India etc.
The Program coordinator and ASCII In charge Ms Riana Anto, briefed about previous years activities and also described the detailed way of functioning for ASCII in the future. Dr Samiksha, CSI in-Charge also briefed about the future activities planned under CSI for this academic Year.
Rev. Fr. Antony Puthussery, Campus Coordinator felicitated the Office Bearers of ASCII for the year 2016-2017 and also graced the occasion by his inspiring Words.

Mr GNV Prasad shared his experience in the field of engineering which helped and guided the students to prioritise their objectives. Everyone on and off the stage appreciated his kind thoughts and motivation to the young students.
Mr Nicky Mathew, the president of ASCII proposed the vote of thanks.